Travels and Explorations

Monasterio de Sta.Clara de Manila

Monasterio de Sta. Clara de Manila was first introduced to me by one of my High School best friends during the time when I was really depressed about my Accounting subject. She said that everything that she asked to St. Claire came true, so I went with her that one time. She showed me how and what to offer to St.Claire. And indeed after that one time, St.Claire did heard my prayers.

So from then on, whenever I want to clear off my mind and take a break form a tiring, long, hard week, I always go here at my favorite church.

Since I am just near Sta. Lucia East Grand Mall, I rode a PUV going to Cubao that costs me PHP 10.00. Ask the driver to drop you off at Katipunan-Petron gas station. The monastery is on the other side of the highway. One must cross using the footbridge in order to go the church.

Jpeg
Outside the Church

As you can see from the above photo, the street is filled with stalls/standee stores offering eggs. It is believed that you have to offer eggs to St. Claire in exchange for a prayer petition (in the early times, it is in exchange for a good weather). Colors were incorporated for each trays of eggs based on your purpose in petitioning a prayer for St. Claire. Usually, I buy the yellow tray of eggs because yellow is the color for overall prayers and thanksgiving. One tray of 6 eggs costs PHP 40.00.

You will see the following scenery upon entering the monastery:

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
You may make a wish using your coin/s in this wishing well.
Jpeg
Say a little prayer at St. Claire’s statue
Monasterio de Sta. Clara de Manila Church (front)

And for the main event — offering eggs for St. Claire in exchange for your wish/prayer petition!

Upon entering the offering room/section of the church, you have to get a blank paper and a pencil in the reception area. Usually, the guard assigned in the reception area will be the one who will give you the paper and the pencil but in case that he/she did not attend to you, just get one of each then sit at the writing area (left side). Sit there in silence while you write your wishes/prayers to St.Claire. And yes, it is highly encouraged to turn off your phone during the process for the sake of the solemnity of the other people’s prayers in the place.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

After writing your petition, go inside the mini chapel adjoined room and give the egg offering to the staff assigned in the area, then drop of your petition in the petition box. At this point you’re mission is already accomplished. But you have two options: A) you can either walk out the door or B) stay in the mini chapel and pray some more.

Every single one of my prayers/wishes were granted here at Monasterio de Sta. Clara de Manila in Katipunan. All you need to do is have faith and patience. But also remember to always do your best in everything that you do. You can’t just simply rely on prayers alone, if you really want something, work for it. Great things doesn’t happen overnight. 😉

Just for the record, I am not a total devotee of St. Claire. I’m just sharing my interest here in my blog. And I hope I helped you in some way.

Thank you for your time, ’til next blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

